After Radio Silence …

Ending my pause after almost a year.

Jordan Noeding
3 min readSep 13, 2021
Taken by Jordan Noeding

When I announced we were picking up our lives and moving to Maine, I don’t think I had any idea what I was in for. We spent almost three months living in my aunt and uncle’s basement — a very nice basement, to be sure. During that time, I began a brand new job at an advertising agency, while my husband also began his new job. All the while, we were searching for our new home. To say we were busy, would be a bit of an understatement.

Well, we found our new house and have spent the summer exploring our area and falling into something that resembles a normal routine. I can honestly say I am pleased we made the leap to come to Maine. We now live in an old farmhouse that was built in 1834 and kept up beautifully. From our front door, it’s only a twenty-minute walk to our local coffee shop, a five minute drive will bring you to a lake and trails for hiking.

This is our ideal environment but the adjustment hasn’t been without its challenges. I had underestimated how much I would miss our small cape in Massachusetts. Although I am fully in love with our new home, I found myself mourning our past. We had put so much time and energy into our last house and after three years, my gardens were looking impressive. To start over again was a mental shift I had not anticipated. I found myself wanting to do any modifications to the new house as quickly as I could, forgetting it took us three years to make the previous home ours.

We are coming to the end of summer and I finally feel at peace. I’ve accepted it will take another three years for the gardens to look as good as the ones I left behind. Now, I am fully focused on writing. Once again, I would like to use these posts as a medium for talking about the process, what’s going on in our lives, and the book in general.

Now for the update …

The first book, The Silent Are Rising is now in the hands of a professional editor for final review. She will spend the next months combing through it and pulling out anything I missed during my weeks of editing. After the manuscript has been polished, I will release it as an ebook for Amazon, Apple, and Nook. My hope is, if the book gains traction and people are interested, to order printed copies to send and sell off of the website.

It will be my joy to have people read this book and enjoy it as much as I have writing it. I genuinely believe in this story and have fallen in love with each of my characters. If I can pass my passion forward and spark someone else’s imagination, I will consider the whole endeavor a success.

--

--

Jordan Noeding

Fantasy almost-author currently working on a 6 book series. • Instagram: @jordanlnoeding • Website: thesecondghostwar.com